New Zealand Property Investors' Federation

The NZPIF is the umbrella body for 20 local Property Investors' Associations throughout New Zealand.

(027) 357 9243

Landlord of the Year 2014


Celebrate your professionalism

Enter now

Download the entry form

Closing date for entries: 28 August, 2015

Prize is $1,500 to be presented at the 2015 NZPIF Conference held in Auckland.


NZ Property Investors' Federation
and Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment – 
Building and Housing

Landlord of the Year

This Award seeks to identify and honour an excellent example of a landlord amongst the members of Property Investors' Associations affiliated to the NZ Property Investors' Federation

What are the criteria?

As the Award aims to highlight professionalism and good practice, the selection is based on the following criteria, with equal weight for each item.

  • Evidence of positive ongoing relationships with tenants.
  • The way the applicant conducts his or her business as a landlord.
  • Evidence of creativity and flair used in adding value to the asset and the community

Who may enter?

Members of affiliated PIAs, who manage all or some of their own properties, whether full time or part time, and regardless of the number of properties managed, are encouraged to enter.

Download your Entry Form

Entrants must be undertaking the obligations and responsibilities of landlords, not merely being listed on tenancy agreements as being landlords while their appointed agents manage the landlord/tenant.

Members of the NZPIF Executive Committee and their families may not enter.

What does the winner receive?

The winner will hold the NZ Property Investors' Federation/Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment Landlord of the Year Cup for one year and be given a framed citation as a permanent record.

He or she will also receive a cash prize of $1,500, which will be presented together with the Cup and the citation at the 2015 NZPIF Conference to be held in Christchurch from 16th to 18th October 2015.

The Association of which the winner is a member will receive a cash prize of $500

The two runners up will each receive a framed citation..

How will the entries be judged?

An independent judging panel of 3-5 persons with wide industry experience will be convened by the NZPIF Executive Committee to consider the entries received. The written applications and any supporting material will be assessed and inquiries may be made of an entrant's tenants and peers.  

An entrant's properties may be viewed by way of kerbside inspections

How do I enter?

Closing date for the receiving of entries is 28 August 2015.

Download your entry form

Entries must be emailed to the NZPIF clearly marked ENTRY - LANDLORD OF THE YEAR 2015

All entries will be acknowledged.

The decision of this Panel will be final and no correspondence will be entered into with entrants or Entrants and the selected winner will be expected to be available from time to time for promotional and public relation activities associated with the Award.

Previous winners of Landlord of the Year Award.

2008 - Andrea and Andrew Elliott, Otago Property Investors' Association

2009 - Debbie van den Broek, Rotorua Property Investors' Association

2010 - Nancy Caiger, Waikato Property Investors' Association

2011 - Award not presented

2012 - Dave and Stef Wade, Otago Property Investors' Association

2013 - Pauline Beissel, Manawatu Property Investors' Association.

2014 - Lyn Marshall, Nelson Property Investors' Association.